Financial Astrology Index for Friday, 28 September 2018

Total           1 day ago     1 week ago
40-58           31-39             34-46



(bearish 0-40; neutral 40-60; bullish 60-100)


Comment:  Clouds remain

US stocks rebounded somewhat on Thursday, although the close saw some selling.  The low index score suggested a more clearly bearish day so the negative divergence continues. 

Friday's index of 40-58 (mean=49) gets a bump from the more favourable Moon placement opposite Venus and Jupiter.  The transit alignments are still a bit problematic given the closeness of the Mars-Ketu conjunction although that score has moved higher.  The NYSE and NASDAQ alignments  contain some tense patterns which may should eventually release their pessimistic payload although their scores are also moving higher for Friday.

Moon   10-14/20

Sun   4/10

Transit Alignments  12-18/30

NYSE Alignments  8-12/20

NASDAQ Alignments 6-10/20




 


Financial Astrology Index for Thursday, 27 September 2018

Financial Astrology Index for Wednesday, 26 September 2018

Financial Astrology Index for Tuesday, 25 September 2018

Financial Astrology Index for Monday, 24 September 2018

Financial Astrology Index for Friday, 21 September 2018

Financial Astrology Index for Thursday, 20 September 2018

Financial Astrology Index for Wednesday, 19 September 2018

Financial Astrology Index for Tuesday, 18 September 2018

Financial Astrology Index for Monday, 17 September 2018


Financial Astrology Index for Friday, 14 September 2018

Financial Astrology Index for Thursday, 13 September 2018

Financial Astrology Index for Wednesday, 12 September 2018

Financial Astrology Index for Tuesday, 11 September 2018


Financial Astrology Index for Monday, 10 September 2018

Financial Astrology Index for Friday, 7 September 2018

Financial Astrology Index for Thursday, 6 September 2018

Financial Astrology Index for Wednesday, 5 September 2018

Financial Astrology Index for Tuesday, 4 September 2018

Financial Astrology Index for Friday 31 August 2018

Financial Astrology Index for Thursday, 30 August 2018

Financial Astrology Index for Wednesday, 29 August 2018

Financial Astrology Index for Tuesday, 28 August 2018

Financial Astrology Index for Friday, 24 August 2018

Financial Astrology Index for Thursday, 23 August 2018

Financial Astrology Index for Wednesday 22 August 2018

Financial Astrology Index for Tuesday 21 August 2018

Financial Astrology Index for Monday 20 August 2018

Financial Astrology Index for Friday 17 August 2018

Financial Astrology Index for Thursday 16 August 2018

Financial Astrology Index for Wednesday 15 August 2018

Financial Astrology Index for Tuesday 13/14 August 2018




Background and disclaimer (Updated 4 Sep 2018)
 

Can market probabilities be reduced to a single number?  Given the large number of planetary variables involved, it is very difficult to distill the relative balance of optimism and pessimism into simple numerical form.   The Financial Astrology Index (FAI) is my attempt to explore this possibility.  The index has a theoretical range between 0 (all bearish) to 100 (all bullish).  Most of time, it should move between 20 and 80.  Readings above 60 should be considered bullish, while readings below 40 are bearish.  Readings between 40 and 60 are neutral.   

It may be read in a similar way to technical indicators such as the RSI and Stochastics which show overbought and oversold conditions in the market. A number above 80 is very bullish and suggests a strong up trend.  In some situations (e.g. near resistance, in a bearish market), this may also indicate a heightened risk of a reversal lower.  Alternatively, a falling FAI in a rising market can create a negative divergence which may be an indication of rising downside risk.  Conversely, a rising FAI can set up a positive divergence against a backdrop of a bear market or market correction.  This divergence could be signal that a rebound may come soon.  The trend in the FAI is at least as important as the actual value in terms of understanding possible future price patterns. 

As always, it is not intended as a substitute for established stock market technical indicators.  If anything, it is intended to stand alongside them and should be treated as an additional source of information -- just another tool in the investor's toolkit. 

Fair warning: this is still experimental and more of a work-in-progress.  I will likely be tweaking the relative weights of the different factors as I go.  

By way of disclaimer, let me state the obvious: do not use this index as a stand-alone method for investing.  There are simply too many unknowns in astrology.  Astrology is best used as a supplementary source of information in tandem with other technical and fundamental approaches.  This is not to be taken as investment advice.  For informational purposes only.